Asthma

I’ve always had asthma, but my most serious attack was at home at night when I was seven-or-so years old. I ended up staying in hospital for some time(I can’t recall how long I stayed, my thoughts are often confused when I have asthma attacks). There are seven main things I remember about staying at the hospital,
1: seeing a female teenager who I think had eating problems or something, not that she was fat, she was just really, really thin and pale.
2: The nurse spilling medicine on me (not on purpose).
3: A dark-haired boy who was older than me and who I became friends with during my time at the hospital.
4: my mum sleeping in some sort of bed next to me.
5: me refusing to put the oxygen-mask-thing on until my mum told me I’d look like a dragon if I wore it.
6: A needle being stuck into my main blood-vein in my wrist. And
7: deciding whether to have rice crispies or toast for breakfast.

Since then my asthma has never ever been that bad, however, I’ve recently suffered three days with a very bad non-stop asthma attack, and I mean non-stop, I haven’t had a decent night sleep for two days. Usually my asthma attacks can be solved with a puff from my inhaler, but over the weekend it just didn’t do anything, the slightest things seem to set it off, from walking to the shops(which are literally around the corner from my house) to the rooms temperature changing slightly. My mum even thought about calling an ambulance, she didn’t, but we visited the doctor today and apparently my mum should have called an ambulance because my asthma is pretty bad-and I was even feeling better that day!

So as well as using my inhaler I have to use some drugs, I have to take them for five days and then ‘consult the asthma nurse’ (that’s what the doctor said anyway, doesn’t sound like he’s talking about an oracle or something?). I have to take steroids everyday with or after food, not the body-builder steroids by the way, they’re these prednisolone ones, I also have to take antibiotics three times a day. So that sucks. But you know what? So far I haven’t died from asthma, and I don’t think I will, I still have a good long time to live.

Leave a Reply

